Motivation To Graduation Dropout Prevention Forum

Last Updated by Ellie Banks on
Photo Credit: Thomas Lambert

PHOTO Panelists (left to right): Dr. Kim Benton, Mississippi State Treasurer Lynn Fitch, Remí Nichols, Attorney Ramona Seabron-Williams, Rosaline McCoy, Dr. Earl Watkins

On November 30, the Mississippi Public Broadcasting Education Department hosted the Motivation to Graduation Dropout Prevention Forum. Community leaders and partners met in the MPB Auditorium to address Mississippi's current dropout crisis and discussed solutions to increase the overall graduation rate throughout the state. 

The forum featured two keynote speakers and a panel of community leaders and voices.

Keynote Speakers:

  • Gray Tollison, Mississippi Senator, representing District 9
  • Mississippi Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann

Pannelists included:

  • Mississippi State Treasurer Lynn Fitch
  • Dr. Kim Benton, Chief Academic Officer at the Mississippi Department of Education
  • Dr. Earl Watkins, School Leadership Consultant
  • Mr. John Neal, Associate Superintendent of Community Relations and Dropout Prevention for the Hinds County School District
  • Remi Nichols Junior at Clinton High School, MPB Ambassador Council President
  • Attorney Ramona Williams, Executive Director, Jobs for Mississippi Graduates
  • Rosaline McCoy, Jackson Council PTA President

View photos from the event and check out the Facebook live video from the pannelist discussion.


Photo Credit: Thomas Lambert

Sponsored By: