In this crisis, MPB strives to provide comprehensive news, educational resources and essential information. Help us continue the work.
Mississippi College Board Bids Farewell to President and Board Members
Email share
Aubrey Patterson former president and Alan Perry in-coming president
Desare Frazier


It was expected that the College Board would announce plans to conduct a search to replace its new commissioner, Dr. Jim Borsig, who resigned before he was to officially begin the job April 15th. Borsig is still president of Mississippi University for Women and wants to return to that position. The board did not discuss the issue publicly. Members did, however, welcome it's new president Alan Perry, who presented his predecessor with a plaque. Former Governor Haley Barbour appointed Aubrey Patterson to the board 11 years ago. Patterson, who is the Chief Executive Officer of BancorpSouth says he'll miss it.

"Well it's a bittersweet thing. It's such a wonderful organization and the work is so worthwhile that you hate for your share of the process to come to an end. But on the other hand 11 years has been a long commitment." said Patterson.

College Board members Ed Blakeslee, Bob Owens and Robin Robinson are also leaving after serving 11 years. Alan Perry credits the four members with helping to create methods to allocate resources fairly. He also praised Jackson State University graduate Bob Owens. 

"I think Bob Owens with his experience from HBCU 's has meant a lot to the board and to me personally, understanding that experience and the access it provides." said Owens.

None of the four new board members appointed by Governor Phil Bryant graduated from a historically black public university in Mississippi. Board members now serve nine year terms.